The 2020 election is sure to be one of the most expensive in history. With a packed field of candidates, we as donors and strategists must remember to keep our eye on the prize.

The presidential primary should not be a popularity contest – it should be a discussion about how best to move our country forward.

Way to Win is committed to building the power of our base: women, people of color, Indigenous people, LGBTQ+ people, and young people. This multiracial coalition is key to winning, and Republicans know it. Thus, they weaponize race to consolidate their power among white voters. Meanwhile, Democrats fall into the trap of focusing on “electability” — which is code for appealing to white swing voters. This language papers over an implicit bias and it covers over the untapped power of the Democratic base.

We believe that with the right policies, narratives, and campaign strategies, a multiracial fusion coalition can carry the best person to office. This coalition is looking for candidates who will reflect and represent their concerns, candidates who have bold visions to solve big problems. This coalition wants a candidate who speaks to the possibility of an America that is just, democratic, and free from the domination of corporate control. This coalition wants a candidate who is willing to take a stand for what they believe in.

We've developed this Presidential Playbook in collaboration with some of the best movement leaders and political strategists in the country to create a lens through which we can examine every candidate, based on how they’re running their campaign and what they stand for, rather than succumbing to the vague language of “electability.” By defining criteria through questions, this Playbook can be a practical guide and aid in evaluating which candidates will see themselves as accountable to the true base. These questions, organized by the signals of success we’ve seen in campaigns over the course of the last several cycles, will change the direction of politics in America – if we use them. We need the candidates to hear from us at every turn. When you meet with candidates, participate in endorsements, or make funding decisions, we ask you to lift up these questions. Working together, our coalition can help ensure the person elected to office is reflective of, and held accountable to, these values.

Join us in using the presidential primary to shift the conversation and build long-term power for a progressive future.

The full version of the Presidential Playbook is available to members of Way to Win. It will be released on April 24, when a password will be shared.

Not a member? We invite you to peruse the preview. To learn more about membership and how you can get involved, contact Leah Marsters at

Playbook Co-Authors + Champions

Signatories listed in the order received. Last updated April 22, 2019.
Title and organization are listed for identification purposes only. The views expressed in this Presidential Playbook belong solely to the signatories, and not necessarily to the signatories’ employers or organizations.

Tory Gavito
Co-Founder & President
Way to Win

Nicole Boucher 
Vice President
Way to Win

Chris Maggiano
Cormier & Co

Vini Bhansali
Executive Director
Solidaire Action

George Goehl
People’s Action

Billy Wimsatt
Executive Director
Movement Voter Project

Jessica Byrd
Founder and Chief Doer
Three Point Strategies

Aimee Allison
She the People

Stephanie Valencia
Equis Labs

DeJuana Thompson
Partner, Think Rubix
Creator, Woke Vote

Jess Morales Rocketto
Executive Director
Care in Action

Cristina Tzintzun
Executive Director

Tania Unzueta
Policy Director

Leah Hunt-Hendrix 
Co-Founder & V.P.
Way to Win

Stephanie Porta
Executive Director
Organize Florida

Sophie Robinson
Robinwood Center

Andrea Mercado
Executive Director
New Florida Majority

Susan Pritzker
Libra Foundation

Alejandra Gomez
Co-Executive Director

Michelle Tremillo
Executive Director
Texas Organizing Project

Maurice Mitchell
National Director
Working Families Party

Anat Shenker-Osorio
ASO Communications

Latosha Brown
Co-Founder & Chief Doer
Black Voters Matter Fund

Leah Greenberg
Co-Executive Director
Indivisible Project

Yvonne Gutierrez
Advocate and
Community Organizer

Rashad Robinson
Color Of Change

Jenifer Fernandez Ancona
Co-Founder, Way to Win
Director, WDN Action

Tram Nguyen
Co-Executive Director
New Virginia Majority

Jennifer Epps-Addison
President & Co-Executive Director
Center for Popular Democracy Action

Dorian Warren
Community Change Action

Ryan Greenwood
Director of Movement Politics
People’s Action

Josie Mooney
Organizing Director
Peoples Action

Nse Ufot
Executive Director
New Georgia Project Action Fund

Crystal Zermeño
Director of Electoral Strategy
Texas Organizing Project

Cristina Jiménez Moreta
Executive Director & Co-Founder
United We Dream Action

Cliff Albright
Co-Founder & Executive Director
Black Voters Matter Fund

Kirk Noden
Strategic Advisor
Community Building Strategies

Anathea Chino
Advance Native Political Leadership

Esther Lim
Organizing Director
Asian American Advocacy Fund